Nelson Higher Education

Higher Education

Cengage Advantage Books: Piano for Pleasure, Concise, 4th Edition

  • Martha Hilley
  • Lynn Freeman Olson
  • ISBN-10: 0495897736
  • ISBN-13: 9780495897736
  • 228 Pages | Spiralbound
  • COPYRIGHT: 2011 Published
Request a Copy for Review


About the Product

This compact edition of BASIC PIANO FOR PLEASURE is an accessible, thorough introductory text for beginning pianists. The authors present vital keyboard skills in a smooth, carefully calibrated progression that makes students feel comfortable learning to play the piano. By the end of the first chapter, students can play a Hilley arrangement of "Amazing Grace," and a piece written especially for this text by Lynn Freeman Olson. Subsequent chapters build students' confidence by offering a consistent synthesis of keyboard skills, music theory, and creativity. Olson's original and appealing musical selections consistently complement Hilley's mastery of pedagogy and pacing. As a result, students learn difficult piano skills as they experience the excitement of playing old favorites.


  • The Piano Resource Center, created by Martha Hilley for CENGAGE ADVANTAGE BOOKS: BASIC PIANO FOR PLEASURE, contains additional music, podcasts, and other study material available for students and instructors.

  • Improvising and Composition skills sections offer students the opportunity to be creative while solidifying what they have learned theoretically and musically.

  • The Piano Resource Center, created by Martha Hilley, contains additional music, podcasts, and other study material available for students and instructors.

  • e-bank Instructor's Manual.

About the Author

Martha Hilley

Martha Hilley joined the faculty of The University of Texas at Austin School of Music in 1982 as Coordinator of Group Piano and Pedagogy. Throughout her career, she has been active in piano pedagogy, teaching on the national, state, and local levels, as well as internationally in Italy, Belgium, Australia, Norway, Austria, and Taiwan. Hilley has been the recipient of numerous awards for excellence in undergraduate teaching throughout her career, including the Texas Excellence Teaching Award, 1983; a Dad’s Association Centennial Fellowship, 1988; and the Texas Music Teachers Association’s Outstanding Collegiate Teacher,1997. In 1992, Hilley received the prestigious Orpheus Award presented by Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia in recognition of her contributions to the field of music. She was the first College of Fine Arts faculty member to be awarded the William Blunk Endowed Professorship (1998). In 2002, Professor Hilley was named as the first MTNA Foundation Fellow for the state of Texas. Ms. Hilley was inducted into the University of Texas Academy of Distinguished Teachers in the fall of 2005. Professor Hilley was honored with the Music Teachers National Association Distinguished Service Award at the 2008 MTNA National Conference in Denver, CO. This award recognizes an MTNA leader who has provided significant and lasting volunteer service to the association. Hilley is coauthor of two college piano texts: PIANO FOR THE DEVELOPING MUSICIAN and PIANO FOR PLEASURE, the first texts to embrace digital sequencer technology through disks and the first to provide Web-based computer tutorials.

Lynn Freeman Olson

Lynn Olson was an award-winning composer of piano music for adult beginners.

Table of Contents

1. Listening/Dynamics/Black Keys.
2. Simple Note Values/Key Names/Black Key Groups.
3. Meter Signatures/Rests/Line and Space Notes/Steps and Skips/Seconds and Thirds.
4. Treble and Bass/Grand Staff/Fourths and Fifths/Half Steps and Whole Steps/Sharps and Flats.
5. Dotted Rhythms/Phrases.
6. Upbeats/Major Pentascales.
7. Triads/Sixths, Sevenths, Eighths.
8. Extensions/Leger Lines.
9. Syncopation/Major Scales/ Key Signatures.
10. Scale Fingering/Primary Chords.
11. Chord Inversions/Guitar Symbols.
12. Compound Meter/Dominant Sevenths.
13. Triplets/Key Triads.
Indices of Titles and Composers.

New to this edition

  • A consistent, repeating chapter structure divides students' learning into Listening, Rhythm, Technique, Theory, Reading, Improvising, Performance, and Writing skills. The authors smoothly build on these skills throughout the book's nineteen chapters.


All supplements have been updated in coordination with the Main title.
Please see Main title page for new to this edition information.

Instructor Supplements

Resource Center, 1 term (6 months) Instant Access, Concise  (ISBN-10: 0495902462 | ISBN-13: 9780495902461)

This outstanding online Resource Center features new examples, more practical advice on playing the music in the text, more music that tackles key concepts, and additional practice drills--a complete tutorial for every chapter. For online purchase only.

Student Supplements

Resource Center, 1 term (6 months) Instant Access, Concise  (ISBN-10: 0495902462 | ISBN-13: 9780495902461)

Purchase this code to gain 24/7 access to premium content to help you get the most from your text.